Two Springbok stars nominated for World Rugby Player of the Year

Submitted by Nic.Andersen on Fri, 11/02/2018 - 15:27
Faf De Klerk on the ball.

The nominees for the World Rugby Player of the Year award have been announced. Unsurprisingly, South African rugby fans have a decent amount to be happy about.

Scrumhalf Faf de Klerk and Malcolm Marx (Hooker) both made the cut to be part of the list of five nominees.

Congrats! @M_marxi2 and @fafdeklerk were nominated for the prestigious @WorldRugby Player of the Year Award. This follows hot on the heels of last week’s announcement that Aphiwe Dyantyi had been shortlisted as one of three candidates for the Breakthrough of the Year. #boksontour

— South African Rugby (@Springboks) November 2, 2018

The winner will be announced at the World Rugby Awards on 25 November in Monte Carlo.

While De Klerk and Marx have had massive years in Springbok colours, the other three nominees have also had stellar seasons.

Full list of nominees:

Bauden Barret (New Zeland), Faf De Klek (South Africa), Malcolm Marx (South Africa), Rieko Ioane (New Zeland), Johnny Sexton (Ireland).

Photo: Twitter/ SA Rugby